Get to know Transportation Secretary Eric Boyette

Transportation Secretary Eric Boyette has the rare distinction of leading two Cabinet agencies during Gov. Roy Cooper’s administration.

Get to know Rep.-elect Jennifer Balkcom

Rep.-elect Jennifer Balkcom, R-Henderson, will be taking over the seat formerly held by Reps. Tim Moffitt and Chuck McGrady, representing the majority of Henderson County. She’ll be one of the only people in the legislature who work in the banking industry.

Get to know Sen.-elect Benton Sawrey

Johnston County is one of the fastest-growing counties in the state, but Senate district lines have carved it into multiple districts represented by people from neighboring counties.

Get to know N.C. Rep. John Autry

Rep. John Autry, D-Mecklenburg, is in his third term representing a section of Charlotte east of the city center. He’s known for sponsoring legislation on clean energy and other environmental issues as well as affordable housing.

Get to know Rep.-elect Ken Fontenot

For Wilson County’s new legislator, the second time was the charm.

Get to know Rep. Julia Howard

Rep. Julia Howard, R-Davie, is one of the legislature’s longest-serving members, having first been elected in 1988. She’s been a key figure on taxes, unemployment and many other issues, but she’s occasionally had public disagreements with House Speaker Tim Moore, who last year took away Howard’s position as chair of …

Get to know Sen. Joyce Waddell

Sen. Joyce Waddell is a Democrat who has served Charlotte and Mecklenburg County (currently the eastern corner) in the Senate since 2015. She was previously a school board member, and much of her work in the Senate has focused on education issues. Last year, she sponsored legislation to eliminate the …

Get to know Rep. Karl Gillespie

Rep. Karl Gillespie, R-Macon, is a first-term House member who represents the state’s four westernmost counties: Cherokee, Macon, Clay and Graham. He has a five-hour commute to Raleigh when the legislature is in session. He serves on agriculture, education and wildlife resources committees.

Get to know Rep. Reece Pyrtle

Rep. Reece Pyrtle, R-Rockingham, is one of the House’s newest members, appointed in August 2021 following the death of Rep. Jerry Carter, R-Rockingham. He’s hit the ground running, working on a range of criminal justice and law enforcement bills during this year’s short session.

Get to know Rep. Wesley Harris

Rep. Wesley Harris, D-Mecklenburg, is in his second term representing the southern end of Mecklenburg County, including the Ballantyne community and the town of Pineville. He’s the only economist serving in the legislature – something he’s quick to remind colleagues when taxes and economic issues come up in floor debates.

Get to know Sen. Deanna Ballard

Sen. Deanna Ballard, R-Watauga, has emerged as a key Senate leader on education issues, chairing two education committees, shepherding bills on topics ranging from school reopenings to literacy standards.

Get to know Rep. Garland Pierce

Rep. Garland Pierce, D-Scotland, has represented the South Carolina border county and its neighbors in the House since 2005, making him one of the most senior legislators in the chamber. He’s currently serving as vice-chair of the House Commerce Committee. This session, he successfully sought budget funding for a new …

Get to know Secretary of Administration Pamela Cashwell

Pamela Cashwell has led the N.C. Department of Administration since April 2021 as a key member of Gov. Roy Cooper’s Cabinet. The agency describes its broad range of responsibilities as the “business manager” for state government and “a voice for underserved communities.”

Get to know Rep. Raymond Smith

Rep. Raymond Smith, D-Wayne, is a former Wayne County school board member with a diverse professional background. He’ll be wrapping up his two terms in the House later this year after redistricting left him in a Republican district, and he made an unsuccessful run for Senate instead. Incumbent Senator Toby …

Get to know Rep. Allen Buansi

Rep. Allen Buansi, D-Orange, is one of the newest House members thanks to Rep. Verla Insko’s decision to step down early. Orange County Democrats waited to see the results of the primary before appointing Insko’s replacement, and Buansi – a Chapel Hill Town Councilman – won a close race against …